65 Random Reasons

It’s already January 8 in the UK, so —

Happy 65th to David Bowie!

And here are 65 lines I’ll likely remember when much else has gone astray.

  1.  Moondust will cover you.
  2.  All the young dudes/Carry the news/Boogaloo dudes.
  3. Planet Earth is blue and there’s nothing I can do.
  4. The return of the Thin White Duke/
  5. Throwing darts in lovers’ eyes.
  6. She’s so swishy in her satin and tat/In her frock coat and bipperty-bopperty hat/
  7. Oh God, I could do better than that.
  8.  It’s not the side-effects of the cocaine/
  9. I’m thinking that it must be love.
  10. …you’re squawking like a pink monkey bird.
  11. …we move like tigers on vaseline.
  12.  … but I’m always crashing in the same car.
  13.  And the wrong words make you listen/In this criminal world.
  14.  Turn and face the strange.
  15. You want more and you want it fast.
  16. Do you like girls or boys?/It’s confusing these days.
  17. Ashes to ashes, funk to funky…
  18.  We were so turned on.
  19. Here are we, one magical moment, such is the stuff/From where dreams are woven.
  20. The hinterland, the hinterland/We’re gonna sail to the hinterland.
  21. There are you, drive like a demon from station to station.
  22.  Blue, blue, electric blue/
  23. That’s the colour of my room…
  24.  Like the dolphins, like dolphins can swim.
  25.  When you’re a boy/You can wear a uniform/When you’re a boy/Other boys check you out.
  26. Wham Bam Thank You Ma’am!
  27. You’re released but your custody calls/
  28. And I want to be free/Don’t you want to be free?
  29. The church of man, love, is such a holy place to be.
  30. Strange fascination, fascinating me.
  31. ‘Cause we’ll never say anything nice again, will we?
  32. As they pulled you out of the oxygen tent/You asked for the latest party.
  33.  Just my librium and me/And my E.S.T. makes three.
  34.  This chaos is killing me.
  35.  I searched for form and land, for years and years I roamed/
  36. I gazed a gazely stare at all the millions here/
  37. We must have died along, a long long time ago.
  38.  It could have been me/
  39. Oh yeah, it could have been me/
  40. Why didn’t I say, Why didn’t I say, no, no, no.
  41.  He could be dead, He could be not, He could be You/
  42. He’s Chameleon, Comedian, Corinthian and Caricature.
  43. When it’s good, it’s really good, and when it’s bad I go to pieces.
  44. Here am I floating round my tin can…
  45. Well-hung with snow white tan…
  46. Keep your ‘lectric eye on me babe/
  47. Put your ray gun to my head/Press your space face close to mine, love/
  48. Freak out in a moonage daydream oh yeah!
  49. You’re the great mistake I never made.
  50. Inspirations have I none – just to touch the flaming dove/
  51. All I have is my love of love – and love is not loving.
  52. “I’m happy, hope you’re happy too/
  53. I’ve loved all I’ve needed love/
  54. Sordid details following.”
  55. Someone like you should not be allowed to start any fires.
  56. And the shame, was on the other side/
  57. Oh we can beat them, for ever and ever/
  58. We could be heroes, just for one day.
  59. All I’ve done, I’ve done for me/
  60. All you gave, You gave for free/I gave nothing in return.
  61. Because of all we’ve seen, because of all we’ve said/We are the dead.
  62. Everything has changed/
  63. For in truth, it’s the beginning of nothing/
  64. And nothing has changed.
  65. Ziggy played guitar.
One thought on “65 Random Reasons

Leave a Reply

